COVID - 19 Support and Resources
RNE recognizes that this is an especially stressful time for many patients and families in the rare disease community who already live with medical problems and uncertainty in their daily lives. We hope everyone is taking the appropriate precautions to protect their health and the health of others.

RNE is keeping up-to-date and abiding by the CDC's recommendations, including moving our organization's efforts online until further notice in order to help flatten the curve in the Coronavirus outbreak. We encourage everyone to practice social distancing as much as possible.

In addition to information directly from the CDC, state-specific rules and recommendations are changing rapidly. 

Our community is filled with generous members, organizations, and businesses that are offering free supports, activities and services to help the public during this difficult time and RNE would like to share them with you. 



Take the time to visit your state's website to get the most updated and accurate information:

Connecticut
https://portal.ct.gov/Coronavirus

Maine
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/epi/airborne/coronavirus.shtml

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/resource/information-on-the-outbreak-of-coronavirus-disease-2019-covid-19

New Hampshire
https://www.nh.gov/covid19/

Rhode Island
https://health.ri.gov/diseases/ncov2019/

Vermont 
https://www.healthvermont.gov/response/infectious-disease/2019-novel-coronavirus


COVID-19 Supports

Great resources also available through the following organizations:

Global Genes: https://globalgenes.org/coronavirus-covid-19-resources/

NORD:  https://rarediseases.org/covid-19-resources-for-non-profit-leaders-and-the-community/


For Primary Care Providers and Medical Staff

Weitzman Institute: https://www.weitzmaninstitute.org/coronavirus

Information for Clinicians on Therapeutic Options for COVID-19 Patients - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/therapeutic-options.html


Supports for Physical and Mental Health

COVID-19 Resource Relief: https://www.laughingatmynightmare.com/covid

Connect with the 211 line to get help during this pandemic: http://www.211.org/services/covid19

Free meals for kids (Boston, MA): 
https://www.boston.gov/departments/food-access/map-meal-sites-boston

Rhode Island Department of Health Free Food Sites for Children - https://health.ri.gov/diseases/ncov2019/about/foodsites/

Veteran Services (Boston, MA): 
https://www.boston.gov/departments/veterans-services

Boston Resiliency Fund: https://www.boston.gov/departments/treasury/boston-resiliency-fund

Mental Health America: https://mhanational.org/covid19

Web-Based Support Groups: https://www.thecenterforchronicillness.org/programs-and-services

Peer-Support Counseling: https://www.happythemovement.com/

Mediation with Jay Shetty live every day.
https://www.facebook.com/JayShettyIW/live_videos/


Free Workouts

Golds Gym is offering free access to its app, Goldsamp, until the end of May, where more than 600 audio and video workouts along with DJ mixes.

Planet Fitness is offering "Home Work-Ins" streamed live at 7 p.m. ET daily on its Facebook page: www.facebook.com/planetfitness

Yoga sites/apps offering free classes:

https:/http://www.corepoweryogaondemand.com/keep-up-your-practice
https:/http://www.downdogapp.com/


Virtually visit a museum, national park, opera, etc

Explore hundreds of museums virtually: https://artsandculture.google.com/

“Field trips” for kids - https://www.amrevmuseum.org/education-museum/students-and-teachers/virtual-field-trip

Free Virtual National Park Tours:






Free Live Opera Audio Stream: https://www.metopera.org/season/radio/free-live-audio-streams/

Free Live Concert Streams: https://www.npr.org/2020/03/17/816504058/a-list-of-live-virtual-concerts-to-watch-during-the-coronavirus-shutdown

Virtual Disney World Rides - https://www.wmtw.com/article/virtual-disney-world-rides/31788233# 


Free Educational Supports

Scholastic Learn At Home allows open access to daily learning journeys divided into four grade spans—Pre-K–K, Grades 1–2, Grades 3–5, and Grades 6–9+, covering ELA, STEM, Science, Social Studies, and Social-Emotional Learning. To learn more and to access Scholastic Learn At Home, visit: http://www.scholastic.com/learnathome

The editors of Scholastic Classroom Magazines have launched a collection of kid-friendly resources for learning about coronavirus: https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/coronavirus.html

Amazon offering some free Audiobooks on Audible: https://www.audible.com/ep/FreeListens

Free Educational Courses: www.Coursera.org

Listen to Betty White read “Harry the Dirty Dog” https://www.southernthing.com/listen-to-betty-white-read-harry-the-dirty-dog-2645536487.html